Name change for the Canon Media Awards

7th December 2017

Canon New Zealand has announced it will be stepping down as naming sponsor of the Canon Media Awards, instead becoming a supporting sponsor for the photographic and videography categories.

Canon has been the awards’ naming sponsor for the past seven years. Prior to 2000, Canon was a supporting sponsor for many years during the Qantas Media Awards era.

Awards Director, Jane Phare, says the Newspaper Publishers’ Association (NPA), which runs the awards, would like to acknowledge the tremendous contribution Canon has made, both as a naming sponsor, as a previous supporting sponsor and as an ongoing sponsor.

“Without Canon, and other supporting sponsors, the media awards would not exist and the excellent journalism achieved in New Zealand would go largely unacknowledged,” says Phare.

Kim Conner, CEO of Canon New Zealand, says after many years of support, making the decision to step down as the naming sponsor was difficult but that Canon was looking forward to continuing its involvement in the prestigious event through sponsoring the photographic and videography categories.

“Canon is committed to the awards and the inspiring photographers, videographers and journalists that make up this very talented industry. We are excited to continue to support and play our part in acknowledging the achievements of New Zealand’s media at the 2018 awards,” says Conner.

A new media awards naming sponsor has been secured and will be announced next week.

The 2018 awards will continue to promote excellence in journalism in a rapidly changing media landscape. Several new award categories that reflect this evolution will be announced shortly.

Now in its 45th year, the national journalism awards showcase the best of New Zealand’s journalism spanning newspapers, magazines and websites/digital including radio and TV. Entries on the Award Force website will open later this month and will close mid-February.

The next Media Awards gala dinner will be on May 11, 2018, at Cordis, Auckland (formerly The Langham).

For further information contact:

Jane Phare, Awards Director; phone 021 500 995
Rick Neville, NPA Editorial Director; phone 021 279 6447
or email

Share this page